Monday, December 10, 2018

India beat Australia by 31 runs

The last time India defeated Australia at home was back in 2008 in Perth.India pulled off a stunning 31-run win over Australia to register their first victory in a Test Down Under in 10 years. The last time India defeated Australia at home was back in 2008 in Perth. This is also the visitors' first victory in Adelaide since 2003.

India beat Australia by 31 runs
India beat Australia by 31 runs

Ravichandran Ashwin, who took three wickets in the final innings, put the final nail in Australia's coffin to end the hosts' admirable rearguard action. 

Pacers Jasprit Bumrah and Mohammed Shami were also crucial to India's cause, picking three wickets each while Ishant Sharma chipped in with one.

Australia's tail fought valiantly on the final day of the Test, almost pulling off the impossible but India kept pegging away to finally clinch a much-deserved win on Australian soil.

Pat Cummins (28), Mitchell Starc (28) and Nathan Lyon (38 not out) made valuable contributions with the bat to frustrate Virat Kohli's team but fell agonisingly short after Josh Hazlewood (13) was caught at bat-pad by KL Rahul off the bowling of Ashwin.

Shaun Marsh, who was 31 not out at stumps on Day 4, scored his 10th Test half-century but fell for 60 to a brilliant Jasprit Bumrah.

Tim Paine also showed some fight on the final day but Bumrah was again at hand to dismiss the Australian captain for 41 and put India on the brink.

However, Starc and Cummins added 41 runs for eighth wicket to give the hosts a glimmer of hope. Mohammed Shami broke the partnership to give India the crucial breakthrough but it was then the turn of Lyon and Cummins to frustrate the Indians.

The Australian pair added another 31 runs to put Australia within touching distance of the target. However, Bumrah got Cummins to edge a delivery to Virat Kohli at slips who after taking the catch threw the ball down hard at the ground.

With India needing just one wicket to win, in walked Australia's No.11 Hazlewood, who batted bravely for 43 balls. Lyon and Hazlewood strung together a 32-run stand for the final wicket as Australia started dreaming of an unlikely victory.

However, Ashwin dashed the home side's hopes with a flighted delivery finding the edge of Hazlewood's bat.

R Ashwin took the last wicket as India beat Australia by 31 runs at the Adelaide Oval to take a 1-0 lead in the four-match Test series on Monday. By virtue of this victory,
India registered their first victory against Australia in 10 years.

Mini-partnerships by the Australian tail-enders on the final day of the Test frustrated the Indian bowlers as they had to wait for a famous victory.

This is the first time that India won an opening Test of a series in Australia. Tim Paine (41), Pat Cummins (28), Mitchell Starc (28), Nathan Lyon (38) and Josh Hazlewood (13) played brilliantly to take Australia closer to the target but it wasn't enough for the hosts to record a win.

Australia put up a brilliant rearguard, with their final six wickets making India earn every bit of their success. After this win, Virat Kohli became the first Indian captain to win Tests in Australia, England and South Africa.

India also became the second Asian side to win the first Test of a series in Australia after Pakistan at the MCG in 1978/79 (series 1-1). India's Cheteshwar Pujara was adjudged man of the match. Ashwin, who took six wickets, registered his best match figures in Australia.